Shooting for the moon: eclipse edition

The beginning stages of Monday's lunar eclipse. Photo by Silvia A. Rueda
The beginning stages of Monday’s lunar eclipse. Photo by Silvia A. Rueda

It’s not often that blood is associated with the night sky, but Monday night the earth’s shadow moved over the moon to tint it with a crimson glow– an event described as the Blood Moon.

I didn’t originally plan to stay up to see it and much less take pictures; but then 1 a.m. rolled around and I just couldn’t fall asleep. I tried to do some schoolwork, but my curiosity got the best of me and I went outside shortly before 2 a.m.

There it was, the shadow consuming a tiny piece of the moon. It was late, lonely and a little sketchy outside but I decided to run inside and get my camera and tripod.

I hadn’t had much luck getting good moon pictures in the past but I had a feeling I’d have better luck this time. That’s because I did a quick Google search on what the best setting is to shoot the moon. I found this site, which was incredibly helpful.

I set my ISO to 100 and my shutter speed to 1/100 of a second. This resulted in some really nice pictures. I also used the manual focus, which was actually the hardest part of taking the photos.

I didn’t stay out very long because well, I had class the next day. But in the time I was outside some of my equally curious neighbors came over to chat about the moon.

I thought it was funny that a lot of them had no idea exactly what a lunar eclipse was. A lot of theories were put out and it was too funny to stop them and actually explain what it is.

I went back inside at about 2:45 a.m. and didn’t get to see the red glow that the moon promised. As I lied in bed, still not feeling sleepy, I watched a live stream of the eclipse.

The following is a pretty cool write-up by CNN about the whole thing.

http://www.cnn.com/2014/04/15/tech/innovation/blood-moon/

One thought on “Shooting for the moon: eclipse edition

Leave a Reply

